Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Local Government Service Commission

About the Commission

About the Commission

  • Establishment of the LGSC.​​
​The LGSC was established under the Local Government Service Commission (LGSC) Act No. 37 of 1975 which came into force on 18 August 1983. The Local Government Service Commission is an independent Commission and its expenses are charged on the Consolidated Fund.

  • Powers of the Commission

The Commission is vested with the exclusive right of appointment, promotion, disciplinary control, removal from office and approval of retirement in respect of all Local Government Officers.

  • Composition of the Commission

The Chairperson and 4 other members were appointed by the President under Section 5 of the LGSC Act.



Members: Mr. Prithivirajsing MUNRAKHUN, O.S.K

​       Mr. Aboobakar Sidick KHODABUX, O.S.K

       Mr. George Clency CHARLES

​       Mr. Dharamveer GOKOOL

  • Vision:​​ To be recognised as an organisation aiming at establishing excellence in all matters relating to Human Resource Management and Human Resource ​Development in the Local Government Service.

  • Mission: To provide qualified and suitable human resources to Local Authorities in a timely manner.

  • Core values: 

  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​Professionalism​​​​​​​

    We deliver our services with the highest level of professionalism.

  • ​​Integrity
    We uphold the highest standards of professional ethics.

  • ​​​​​Objectivity
     Our decisions are based on meritocracy and on rigorous analysis of factual information and evidence.

  • Confidentiality

    We are committed to protect the confidentiality of information made available to the Commission.

  • Honesty

    We always act in good faith and emphasise on the truth.